Classic Tetris World Championship

Replay FX is proud to host the East Coast Qualifier for the CTWC!

Cost: Free with Replay FX admission
Youtube Channel: CTWC Youtube

CTWC History:

In the 1990 Nintendo World Championship competition, Tetris was the game to beat. The winner, Thor Aackerlund, is still seen by many as the best to have ever played.

Today’s Classic Tetris tournaments are played on that same version of Nintendo Tetris, using original NES game systems, controllers, and Tetris cartridges.

In 2009, a player named Harry Hong became the first to achieve the highest possible score of 999,999 points. Inspired by this achievement, filmmaker Adam Cornelius produced a short film about Harry called “Max-Out”, and launched a Kickstarter campaign to document the world of competitive Tetris.

As word of Adam’s Kickstarter campaign spread, rumors of max-out scores from other Tetris Masters began to surface, threatening the supremacy of Harry’s achievement. With the help of Nintendo World Championship veteran Robin Mihara, Adam searched for all of the Tetris Masters he could find. Jonas Neubauer emerged as an early max-out artist, along with the elusive original champ Thor Aackerlund. The idea of bringing these and other NES Tetris Masters together to compete in a live tournament became an obvious and irresistible proposition which was artfully captured in the 2010 feature length documentary Ecstasy of Order: The Tetris Masters.

Under the leadership of producer Vince Clemente, The Classic Tetris World Championship is currently held at the Portland Retro Gaming Expo, an annual event which has hosted the tournament since 2012. Chuck Van Pelt and his organizing committee have built the PRGE into the largest classic gaming expo in the country, drawing around 6,000 attendees.

Every year the scores get higher. Rivalries are revisited once again, and new players emerge to challenge the old guard. Over 20 players have maxed out the score now. Will you be the next?

  • Players must start on any level between 9 & 18.
  • No pausing.
  • No modified controllers.
  • Players are permitted one game, and then they must wait in line before making another attempt.
  • Players must raise their hand and wait for a referee when they are prepared to submit a score.

After qualifying, the top 8 players will enter a single-elimination bracket with standard seeding. The first two rounds will consist of best two-games-out-of-three, while the final round will consist of best three-games-out-of-five.

The higher seed chooses level 15 or 18 for game 1, the lower seed chooses for game 2, and the higher seed chooses for game 3. The highest score wins in each game. In the case of any unusual game or hardware issue, mishap, or any other type of malfunction during play, the referee will make a decision as to how best remedy the situation in the interest of the tournament. All referee decisions are final.